1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How do people "steal" affiliate links ?

Discussion in 'Affiliate Programs' started by JohnMally, Sep 27, 2007.

Hi,

I'm new to affiliate marketing, how do people steal affiliate links ?

Thanks

JohnMally, Sep 27, 2007 IP
  2. kentuckyslone

kentuckyslone Notable Member

Best Answers:
    Here are two ways they can do it

1) The surfer sees that the link is an affiliate link and realize that if they sign up as an affiliate and purchase the item or product through their own link they will, in effect get a discount.

2) There are some types of spyware/trojans that can actually "hijack" your affiliate link and replace the identifying part of the url with someone else affilaite ID.

To help with problem #1 there are different methods you can use to mask or redirect your affiliate links so that it isnt so obvious. This can have the added benefit of making the links look more 'friendly' to the surfer.

I dont really know of any way that you can avoid problem #2 as the spyware/trojan responsible would be present on the individual surfers computer and not on your website.

kentuckyslone, Sep 27, 2007 IP
  3. blowingideas

blowingideas Peon

Best Answers:
    brilliant, thanks for that info kentuckyslone

blowingideas, Sep 27, 2007 IP
  4. kentuckyslone

Best Answers:
    You are very welcome. You can do a google search or search DP to find many different ways to mask and/or redirect your affiliate links.

5. JohnMally

JohnMally Peon

Best Answers:
    Thank you for your reponse. It helps.

JohnMally, Sep 27, 2007 IP
  6. the Patrician

the Patrician Well-Known Member

Best Answers: