1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Encrypt or Hide tracking code on CJ links? And how to protect PR?

Discussion in 'Commission Junction' started by GreenGambler, Jul 27, 2007.

Hello,

I am new to CJ, just joined yesterday.

I've noticed that when you get the link code there are options to encrypt or hide the tracking code in the affiliate link. I am wondering if I should do this? I am thinking yes but do not know what the pros and cons are.

Also how do I make sure that my affiliate links will not hurt my sites SE rankings and PR?

Thanks for your help and time,
    GG

GreenGambler, Jul 27, 2007 IP
  2. tradeepak

tradeepak Banned

Best Answers:
    You better not do it. I dont know why.. but I dont do it.

tradeepak, Jul 28, 2007 IP
  3. tvmatt

tvmatt Peon

Best Answers:
    Worthless answer, are you just trying to increase your post count?

There's not much use for the encrypt function, except that it makes it harder for people to figure out what affiliate has generated the link. Advertisers & CJ still can figure it out easily, though.

As for hiding the link, it's just a javascript mouseover used to make the link look like a regular link (not an affiliate link). Kinda worthless as well.

Neither of these techniques should affect PR at all, but they also don't do much. I'd just skip using them, it's more of a nuisance to change links if you are using them (you can't just swap a link ID in the encrypted URL, you have to replace the whole URL instead).

tvmatt, Jul 28, 2007 IP
    GreenGambler likes this.
  4. GreenGambler

GreenGambler Notable Member

Best Answers:
    Thanks for the answer tvmatt, rep added!