1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Thinking about introducing ads. Should I inform my users via announcement?

Discussion in 'Forum Management' started by dpatel304, May 17, 2007.

My site is pretty small, and I've been reluctant to put ads on the site, simply because I think it will just annoy people and not earn me much. But, that has changed, and I have decided to put a few ads here and there (nothing too excessive).

Anyway, as a forum admin, I am trying to be extremely friendly and likeable, and one thing I strive to do is be completely upfront and honest about everything. Now, introducing ads, I want to know how some of you went about it. I'm not sure if I should tell them that ads are here, and the reason why (most of the money will be put into making the site better), or should I just do it.

dpatel304, May 17, 2007 IP
  2. checksum

checksum Notable Member

Best Answers:
    Be honest and forthcoming. Explain that the website costs actual money to maintain and putting ads on the site will help pay for those costs.

checksum, May 17, 2007 IP
  3. ruby

ruby Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Thats right... be open and transparent and explain the costs of running the web site and justify the need for runninf ads.

ruby, May 18, 2007 IP
  4. CountryBoy

CountryBoy Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    Openness and transparency are admirable, but there's a fine line to tread - you shouldn't really be doing anything that attracts undue attention to your ads and, in my book, writing an introduction about them falls into that category. It also depends who is providing the ads - AdSense would probably see it my way.

CountryBoy, May 18, 2007 IP
  5. ruby

ruby Well-Known Member

Best Answers: