Amazon Products and Google Adwords

Discussion in 'Amazon' started by tolkein, Dec 30, 2006.

  1. #1
    I've placed some product links on a page at my website. The products (software) are totally related to the website and has a price range of $100 - $400.

    I'm planning to advertise the page with Adwords but need a rough idea on the conversion rate. My calculation will probably be something like this:

    Avg. Product Price = $250
    Commission = 4%
    Conversion = 1 customer for every 100 click-thrus

    Max. CPC for Adwords = $250 x 4% x1% = $0.10

    Are my assumptions ok?
     
    tolkein, Dec 30, 2006 IP
  2. mr_dean

    mr_dean Peon

    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Those software products are kind of expensive, aren't they?

    Usually conversion is 2%.

    If I'm on your place would bid $0.08 at search network and $0.02-$0.05 at content network, if possible.

    Perhaps I would try also to advertise some of my Amazon affiliate websites with Adwords. Might work, although I'm not quite sure.
     
    mr_dean, Jan 1, 2007 IP
  3. wwhhing

    wwhhing Active Member

    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    #3
    But did any one get succeed by using adwords with amazon?
     
    wwhhing, Jan 3, 2007 IP
  4. roy77

    roy77 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #4
    nice business plan! this is the organized way to go, plan, than spend. i wish u luk!
     
    roy77, Jan 3, 2007 IP
  5. kh7

    kh7 Peon

    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    109
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    It's a pretty normal business plan, actually. Nothing revolutionary. Success will be based on:
    - how full is the market (this specific niche)
    - how well are the pages optimized so that people that conversions are high
    - how good are you at writing ads that will ONLY get people to click who are actually interested in your product (re: high conversion rates)
     
    kh7, Jan 4, 2007 IP
  6. begemot

    begemot Peon

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    I was not successful with Amazon and PPC. As I understand, the failure with my campaigns was connected with the nature of online shopping behavior of my visitors. Most people would like to make some research before buying. Amazon cookie will last 1 day. So if visitors are coming back the next day to make an order directly from Amazon you are not getting paid. This drops conversion rate.
    From my point of view this is the main drawback of Amazon affiliate program.
    This kind of behavior could be product specific and may be I was doing something wrong. It would be interesting to hear about somebody's success in this area together with examples (if somebody would share this information).
     
    begemot, Jan 9, 2007 IP
  7. ghoti

    ghoti Peon

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    A couple weeks ago, I saw this site running a few PPC campaigns just like the "Amazonian King" ebook says to do...and they ran for no more than a day or two. I'm guessing their money making attempt was a flop.
     
    ghoti, Jan 9, 2007 IP
  8. mr_dean

    mr_dean Peon

    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    begemot, what kind of products did you try to sell?
    Or you could just say its price range?
     
    mr_dean, Jan 9, 2007 IP
  9. bestoptimized

    bestoptimized Peon

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I can see why there were no conversions - poor landing pages.
    I would click the back button if I went to a page like that.
     
    bestoptimized, Jan 9, 2007 IP
  10. rizal

    rizal Peon

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I think when using Adwords to promote amazon you must choose the best product that people will buy. The problem is visitor will not buy stuff for first time they visit the landing page.
     
    rizal, Jan 10, 2007 IP
  11. mr_dean

    mr_dean Peon

    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11

    I agree. Probably you have to watch competition offers and to choose only products that people will buy as an landing page. And choose inexpensive keywords in AdWords. It needs time...

    And it is not stable income - some products become obsolete or unavailable...

    It isn't something which you could probably do for a long time...
     
    mr_dean, Jan 10, 2007 IP
  12. Tearabite

    Tearabite Prominent Member

    Messages:
    4,629
    Likes Received:
    429
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #12
    I'm trying the same thing, except instead of adwords, i'm using AdCenter because the clicks are way cheaper.
    I just put my Amazon Associate-O-Matic up on my site yesterday, and the products are all realated to my site.
    We'll see how it goes with the natural traffic from my site and the targeted AdCenter traffic (if i ever see it) ..

    .
     
    Tearabite, Jan 13, 2007 IP
  13. Kelvin

    Kelvin Peon

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    PPC with Amazon is difficult because the commission is so low. I've done a lot more testing with the eBay affiliate program and found it easier to profit as the new member sign up bonus gives you much more room to play with.
     
    Kelvin, Jan 13, 2007 IP
  14. rizal

    rizal Peon

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    That right.. We will just give the money to google.. :)
     
    rizal, Jan 13, 2007 IP
  15. whitebmw

    whitebmw Peon

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    ROI of adCenter better than AdWords.
     
    whitebmw, Jan 15, 2007 IP
  16. asma

    asma Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    If i have some e_books,how i can sell them in AMAZON.who can describe about the use way of Amazon.
     
    asma, Jan 18, 2007 IP
  17. markowe

    markowe Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #17
    I don't know about Amazon, but there is ClickBank, which allows you to sell your own e-books and stuff. I have not tried them, but it sounds like what you are looking for. Amazon is probably more choosy - I guess they work with carefully chosen big suppliers.

    markowe
     
    markowe, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  18. geek3d

    geek3d Peon

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    How can I get a catalog of products on my website from amazon, without putting them in one by one? I had someone build a website for me with over 500 amazone products. Did they put in one by one?? I tried the estore but that only had a single page.

    How did they do this? Adding so many products into the website.
     
    geek3d, Jan 23, 2010 IP
  19. bluearrow

    bluearrow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #19
    Since people research before buying expensive products selling stuff from good brands would work ?
     
    bluearrow, Mar 11, 2010 IP
  20. Raj010

    Raj010 Peon

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    The problem with amazon is that it is not as familiar as compared to the Google..
    But the paying commission is not understandable..Someone try to explain it...
     
    Raj010, Mar 15, 2010 IP