1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

INSERT DB

Discussion in 'Databases' started by Karl1710, May 21, 2020.

Please I need a little help, I am only learning SQL.

I need t o INSERT into the DB, a new hotel called 'Beach Resort' at location 'Mexico'.
    This is what i have: (Note that the value '8' is because 'hotelNo' in all tables is NOT AUTO_INCREMENT. but it is a int(11) NOT NULL

INSERT INTO hotel VALUES ('8','Beach Resort','Mexico')

'hotelNo' is the PRIMARY KEY in all tables. If I manually update hotelNo with above script in Hotel table, do i need to update it manually in all tables?

This is MySQL DB in WorkBench

Hotel (hotelNo, hotelName, city)
    Room (roomNo, hotelNo, type, price)
    Booking (hotelNo,guestNo, dateFrom, dateTo, roomNo)
    Guest (guestNo, guestName, guestAddress)

-Hotel contains hotel details and hotelNo is the primary key
    -Room contains room details for each hotel and (roomNo, hotelNo) forms the primary key
    -Booking contains details of bookings and (hotelNo,guestNo,dateFrom) forms the primary key
    -Guest contains guest details and guestNo is the primary key

Any help appreciated

Karl1710, May 21, 2020 IP
  2. sarahk

sarahk iTamer Staff

Best Answers:
    Lets start with a bit of terminology

A database is like a big spreadsheet file, it does very little and is akin to a bucket
    A table is like each tab or worksheet held within the spreadsheet

Once you've put your hotel into the hotels table you'll get an ID. You will NEVER change that but you will use it when you go on and insert values into Rooms, Bookings, and Guests

So what I would normally do is something like this. I use PHP, whatever language you use will have similarities.

foreach hotel