1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How to get my project off the ground? (a gamified study site)

Discussion in 'General Business' started by Dirk the Web Phoenix, Oct 18, 2019.

Hello, everybody:

I am a former web developer trying to get back into the profession. Dealing with ageism and a jungle of new languages, libraries, frameworks, and standards, I have failed to get employed so far; but I also have ideas for projects that could make me money running them myself. One of them is a gamified online study tool I am currently building.

This project faces me with a bunch of issues where I could use some good tips, for example in which forum to persue any of the following issues (and am I overlooking other important issues???):

___1.)_Funding___
    Since the tool should probably be free in order to grow a user base, I think I should start it out as donationware (a free website with optional donations). Problem: (A) How to implement online donations (personal payments? register a business?)? (B) How to avoid chargeback fraud costing me for example $20 in chargeback fee for a $1 refund when there should be no permissible refund requests at all? (C) How to avoid that a third-party transaction service like PayPal, Stripe or Patreon meddles with my complex transnational tax situation (wrongly reporting my money collection to wrong tax agencies, rather than leaving the reporting to the one held responsible: me)

___2.)_Traffic___