1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Controlling state of checkbox programatically

Discussion in 'PHP' started by HenryCan, Jun 8, 2019.

I am relatively new to PHP and I'm struggling with how to control checkboxes on my forms.
    I have a group of 6 related checkboxes on a form - there are some other unrelated checkboxes on the form too - and I want all of the six related checkboxes to be checked initially. When the user completes the form, they may very well uncheck one or all of the six checkboxes and that is fine.

Various edits take place on the various text inputs and text areas on my form and any error will cause the form to be redisplayed with appropriate error messages. When I redisplay the form, I want all of the related checkboxes to be displayed in the proper state. For example, if the first and third checkboxes were unchecked by the user, I want then to be shown unchecked when the form is redisplayed. If they are all unchecked, I want to show them all unchecked when the form is redisplayed.

I can initialize the checkboxes to checked easily enough by simply including the word "checked" in the original HTML but I'm really having trouble finding a way to programatically turn off (or on) a checkbox without resorting to JQuery or JavaScript, both of which I want to avoid if possible. (I'm trying to make these forms work for users that refuse to enable JavaScript for whatever reason.)

Can anyone tell me how to turn checkboxes on or off once they're already set?

HenryCan, Jun 8, 2019 IP
  2. JEET

JEET Notable Member

Best Answers:
    Try this code.