1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

I got a Copyright Letter before the Claim notice. Please help!

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by svaalee, Feb 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
    I live in India and i am a Documentary film producer. The Claimant runs a local YouTube channel in London (UK).

I produced a Documentary Horror and in it's trailer the director incorporated a 19 second footage which was recorded and uploaded on YouTube by the Claimant. The original footage is of 1 Hour and 20 minutes. We used some 19 seconds footage. The footage is of a Public Religious gathering on the streets of London.

That 19 second footage is only used in the film's trailer and "Not" in the film. Trailers are usually known as Promotional Materials. I also made him understand that since the film is a documentary feature, The footage was used in "Fair Use/Fair Dealings" basis. But the claimant thinks that i am lying.

The claimant sent a Letter some 8 days back where he asked me to pay damages which is of 750,000 UK Pounds as he thinks i have used the footage in the film too. I replied him and made him understand about the footage not being used in the film and i also clearly told him that i cannot afford the damages asked. I have also removed the footage from the Trailer.

My worry is will he file a case on me from UK as i am an Indian resident? If he does, What if i am not financially sound to pay the huge asked damages?

Please help me as this worry is making me fall into Panic Attacks.

svaalee, Feb 14, 2017 IP
  2. sarahk

sarahk iTamer Staff

Best Answers:
    • get a real lawyer
    • talk to others in the industry