1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

What I have learned from doing SEO the past 5 years

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by FarrisFahad, Dec 1, 2016.

I am going to tell you my story with SEO so you can learn from my mistakes.

I have been doing SEO for over 5 years now and I have discovered a lot. First, you should know that SEO is not an over night success. You cannot be no where near the first page and suddenly be there. It's a process that takes time. The more you do it, and the more content you build, the more traffic you will have.

Lesson 1: SEO takes time, and the more you work the more traffic you will have.

I have been working on my website for the past 2 years, and I still get less than 150 visitors a month from SE. But it doesn't have to be this way, I have done a lot of mistakes and this is why I get less visitors.

The first mistake I did was to over optimize my website (The homepage). I was aiming for a keyword, and I told my SEO agency to optimize for that keyword and they built a lot of links that targeted this keyword, meaning a lot of links that seemed unnatural.

Lesson 2: Don't over optimize your website. Build "Natural" links.

How does natural links look like?
    Well, natural links have a mixed anchor text with less than %5 that is keyword targeted.
    If you did not understand this, Google how to build natural links.

Remember that you can have a well optimized poorly designed website that ranks high on Google and a poorly optimized website that is well built and no where to be found. So SEO is an important part of a website marketing. And to conquer the search engine you have to have the three pillars ...

1. Great content.