1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Joomla vs. Wordpress vs. Drupal

Discussion in 'Joomla' started by DTaylor82, Apr 18, 2016.

Good evening. I am a student who is conducting research on content management systems. My paper is an analysis of the three most popular web-based CMS -- Joomla, WordPress, and Drupal. One of my evaluative methods is to obtain expert opinions from web designers.

What are the major pros and cons of each of these three CMS?

The website I intend to build is simply a page for a chemical marketing business. It will contain an About Us page, a blog, and a product list.

Which of these CMS are most appropriate for this task and why? Please be as detailed as possible.

DTaylor82, Apr 18, 2016 IP
  2. sarahk

sarahk iTamer Staff

Best Answers:
    It's a long time since I've used Joomla and I haven't done anything more than sniff around with Drupal.

For sites that need a ground up approach I use a framework called cakephp - but for something as vanilla as the site you mention I'd go with WordPress because
    • Users learn it really easily, Joomla used to be a nightmare for unconfident computer users.
    • Basic site installed and my standard set plugins activated, registered with Google Analytics & Webmaster tools in an hour
    • Able to have a static front page to introduce the company
    • Able to utilise off-the-shelf templates or get one built I'm then free to do what I do best and that is to analyse the right way to present the product list. It might be that woocommerce or wp-ecommerce is right, or I might need to write a custom plugin to upload the list, maintain it and present it to the world.