1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Would anyone be interested in starting a rival to DMOZ?

Discussion in 'ODP / DMOZ' started by earthasdf, Mar 5, 2016.

DMOZ has clearly failed. High quality sites wait for years to get approved while spammy ones stay in. It hasn't kept up with the web. Look at the design of the site - it looks like its from 1997. I read in a thread they recently moved to using a database. Before they were using text files (LOL).

Lets start a rival to DMOZ. We can learn from its mistakes. There is no reason why #1 has to stay #1, especially considering the missteps of DMOZ.

I am a programmer.

earthasdf, Mar 5, 2016 IP
  2. Agent000

Agent000 Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    Good luck with that. >100 people working full time for a few yrs is probably what you need just to get started.

Agent000, Mar 5, 2016 IP
    sarahk likes this.
  3. snooks

snooks Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Dream On :) When you can even comprehend having 4,000,000 sites and then 10,000 suggested EVERY month, it may be worth attempting.

Remember DMOZ Editors are Volunteers and are building the directory as a hobby. They ARE NOT building it for webmasters to improve their SEO, they do not guarantee a review and you are saying DMOZ has failed? Where are Yahoo and all the other "big directories" from years gone by????
    Do you always believe everything that you read?

snooks, Mar 5, 2016 IP
  4. earthasdf

earthasdf Peon

Best Answers:
    There's no reason why we couldn't start small. And there's no reason why hobbyists can't join in as well.

earthasdf, Mar 6, 2016 IP
  5. Agent000

Best Answers:
    No one will

Agent000, Mar 6, 2016 IP
  6. earthasdf

earthasdf Peon

Best Answers: