1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Long page loading time?

Discussion in 'Traffic Analysis' started by thatirishvegan, Feb 29, 2016.

Hi, I am relatively new to this whole blogging thing and was wondering if someone could help? I created a blog 2 days ago and have been looking at the Google Analytics information and it says I have an average page load time of 11 secs. This seems way too long to me.

Ive tried changing the theme to a more simple one but that doesn't seem to make any difference. Anybody know what might be causing this?

The blog is on Wordpress using Hostgator and I I've had around 300 views in the past 2 days.

Thanks!

thatirishvegan, Feb 29, 2016 IP
  2. Localnode

Localnode Active Member

Best Answers:
    You should try using a caching plugin such as WP Super Cache or W3 Total Cache.
    I wrote a guide on how to set up WP Super Cache here: https://www.localnode.net/guides/speed-up-wordpress-wp-super-cache/
    There's plenty of guides for other caching plugins (a simple google would be enough)
    Also, look at optimising your images (EWWW Image Optimizer plugin).

Once you've set up WP Super Cache, it's a good idea to preload the cache.

Furthermore, a CDN will definitely help. CloudFlare is a popular one for free. There's also paid ones such as MaxCDN, CDN77, and KeyCDN.

Localnode, Feb 29, 2016 IP
  3. thatirishvegan

thatirishvegan Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    Okay thanks for the reply! Ill give that I go and see if it works.

4. billzo

billzo Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    tools.pingdom.com

Check your site with that load speed tester and you can get an idea of what is taking a long time. How many total file requests does your site have? Is it a lot?