1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Web Server Newbie Question

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by serialentre, Jun 10, 2015.

Hi all,

To give a background, I have been using cPanel for my web server. It's a shared host plan. As far as my knowledge goes, it runs on a Linux Server. I'm able to run the usual html/css/php scripts on the server.

However, I am trying to understand how to run Python scripts. In the process, I have stumbled upon words such as WSGI, mod_wsgi, mod_proxy, Gunicorn, Nginx. Because I am new to these terms, I can't help but feel overwhelmed.

Is there a site where these terms are explained in details? Appreciate any help. Thanks!

serialentre, Jun 10, 2015 IP
    H0stZealot likes this.
  2. Sys Admin

Sys Admin Active Member

Best Answers:
    Google or just hire a server management company to take care of this for you.

Sys Admin, Jun 10, 2015 IP
  3. H0stZealot

H0stZealot Active Member

Best Answers:
    Gunicorn and Nginx refer to VPS servers, all th rest are settings and parameters of VPS servers.

If you require a reliable VPS and a friendly support - contact us, we provide exactly that.

H0stZealot, Jun 11, 2015 IP
  4. PoPSiCLe

PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

Best Answers:
    How does this automatically refer to VPS? It's completely possible to have both Gunicorn and or nginx running on any type of server, it being hosted, shared, VPS, dedicated, colocation - whatever. Also, no, the other are not parameters of VPS servers - they are parameters, yes, but not only for VPS. While I understand you're trying to sell your product, giving accurate info might be a smarter way to do it.

PoPSiCLe, Jun 11, 2015 IP
  5. H0stZealot