1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

First Steps To Finding Customers

Discussion in 'Copywriting' started by Gavin77, Jan 12, 2015.

Hello,

I'm fairly new to copywriting, and am in the process of establishing myself in the field and bringing in my first clients.

So far, my plan is to order some business cards, put up my website, and then start handing my cards out to the businesses that I visit while doing everyday things, and also maybe do some in-person cold calling to various businesses I consider to be good prospects. Because I lack a portfolio, I plan to maybe offer Pro-Bono services to well known names to build up my resume.

Is this the main way you find clients, or do most of you here find clients through the internet alone? I may be a bit in the dark about some of this, but I would like to know some of the best ways to bring in business in the early stages.

Thanks guys for any input about this

Gavin77, Jan 12, 2015 IP
  2. Content Maestro

Content Maestro Notable Member

Best Answers:
  3. WLEadmin

WLEadmin Active Member

Best Answers:
    Sounds like a plan to me!

The only thing I would change in your offline approach would be the portfolio. Just because you haven't written stuff for clients, there's no reason to do without - write some content for imaginary products or for random goods, then post that as your portfolio. Pro bono works as well, of course, but it'll take time to find those clients and a gap-filler will help.

WLEadmin, Jan 13, 2015 IP
  4. jhmattern

jhmattern Illustrious Member

Best Answers:
    If you want to focus on copywriting, you're your own best client, at least in the beginning. Your freelance business needs copy written. You might create: