1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Developing Database Centric Website

Discussion in 'Databases' started by timkaybaseball, Jan 14, 2015.

Hey everyone,

This is my first post to this forum and am a total beginner when it comes to these things.

I am attempting to gather information with creating a database centric web site. It would be a baseball recruiting type web site with each individual player getting their own player page.

Ideally, each player page is generated based off a main page and data from the database (possible?). My initial launch would be in the range of 2600 players.

Basically looking for recommendations from experienced developers on best Database to use for things like this, as well as a web developing program. Also curious on what you think the server needs/capabilities/cost would be for something like this.

Thanks for any and all information you guys are able to provide!

Thanks,
    TK

timkaybaseball, Jan 14, 2015 IP
  2. PoPSiCLe

PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

Best Answers:
    Go for something simple, like a LAMP-stack (Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP) - your run-of-the-mill average web-server.
    To begin with, your page probably won't have much traction - I would go for a simple shared host to start with, but make sure you're able to transfer your existing site (upgrade) to a VPS or better when needed.
    Of course it's possible to fetch all the content from the database, based on URL-variables, for instance.