1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Which programming language to learn when developing a video software program?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by johnrush5, Jul 23, 2014.

Hey I don't think this is a duplicate question, and I apologize if it is.

I'm a beginner to programming (I've never program before) but I have a stellar idea for a video editing software. I have plenty of time to develop it and would like to do so on my own.

I'm not really sure where to start so I need to know which program I will need to learn.

Any other resources (books, blogs, sites, apps) would also be greatly appreciated.

johnrush5, Jul 23, 2014 IP
  2. NetStar

NetStar Notable Member

Best Answers:
    This is tough to answer... If you are looking to make software for Video Editing you would probably be interested in learning C++. But you could also use C# and Java too with the right components. In either case, you really should just learn the fundamentals of programming before you set out to try to make a Video Editing application. On a scale of 1-10 for complexity you are looking at an 8+.

I have been programming for over 16 years and this would be a project that would force me to go back to learn uncharted territories... and it would NOT be easy for me.

NetStar, Aug 2, 2014 IP
    macdonjo likes this.
  3. webshore88

webshore88 Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    c# is good.

webshore88, Aug 3, 2014 IP
  4. spujap

spujap Active Member

Best Answers:
    Learning a language and building video editor are two different learning curves. Also developing the user interface for editor and what happens in background are two separate tasks.