1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Are my sites I hacked?

Discussion in 'Security' started by yhbae01, May 17, 2014.

My background is NOT sys admin (I'm more of a software developer), so I'm struggling with this issue right now.

I'm currently running about 7 sites on a dedicated server. The sites were running fine yesterday and all of a sudden, they are having issues starting today. For some reason, it only affected 4 sites and they all show the following symptoms:

- when I type the site url, it automatically redirects to some pages full of ads some popping up modal dialog boxes that won't die without killing the Chrome process.
    - when I observed very quickly, I saw something like ww20.<rest of url> then directs quickly to those bad pages.
    - any combination of the URLs *.<a site>/* causes the redirection.
    - if I do wget ww20.<a site> from the linux command line, it says the domain does not exist. This leads me to believe that perhaps this is a client side issue.

I checked:

- .htaccess - nothing suspicious there.
    - index.php or index.html files have NOT changed - their last write dates are well before today's date.
    - this happens on ALL of my devices including a Windows 8 laptop, my wife's Windows XP laptop, my Android tablet and my Android phone. I've never heard of a malware that simultaneously affects both Windows machines and Android devices...
    - I tried to tether through my phone. Same results from all of my devices.
    - Sys Admin from the hosting company ran some malicious catch scripts. Found nothing.
    - My Adsense earnings have NOT stopped. They are coming in, but perhaps a bit slower than usual. It isn't obvious at all.