1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Forum signatures SEO

Discussion in 'Link Development' started by Sarah Paris, Jan 10, 2014.

Does Google reward or penalize websites for backlinks from forum signatures? I heard a past update made it bad to have forum signature backlinks but I need to make sure. Thank you!

Regards

Sarah Paris, Jan 10, 2014 IP
  2. Annea

Annea Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Do many forums have dofollow links these days anyway? If they do, I don't see why that would be bad, assuming they are relevant to your niche/site. I'm not an expert though, so someone who is may have a different opinion.

Annea, Jan 10, 2014 IP
    VukasinI likes this.
  3. luke6966

luke6966 Member

Best Answers:
    They are still good to have.

But don't make them your only link source.

Also I wouldn't put they keywords you want to rank for in your signature links.

Just keep branded keywords, domain name, or bare url

luke6966, Jan 10, 2014 IP
  4. tycho

tycho Member

Best Answers:
    Overdoing it is the problem, you want quality over quantity.
    Don't go signing up for every single form you can and get form profile/sig links. It's all about quality.

tycho, Jan 10, 2014 IP
    VukasinI likes this.
  5. Stikky

Stikky Peon

Best Answers:
    Too much of anything is bad, make sure your back link portfolio is spread out between types of back links. I wouldn't allow more than 8% of your back links to be forum signatures. Even is they are nofollow, they do have a little bit of value.

Stikky, Jan 10, 2014 IP
  6. ryan_uk

ryan_uk Illustrious Member

Best Answers: