1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Why Bigcommerce is the worst eCommerce software I've worked with!

Discussion in 'eCommerce' started by Andrii_b, Sep 13, 2013.

3 months ago I decided to give Bigcommerce a chance, had a job designing a website for selling software licenses. It was far from easy to do since its not boxed products that are being sold but licenses them selves. Since I've started working with Bigcommerce I started noticing small problems, like the fact that I didnt have an option of displaying SKUs under the product boxes (had to fix that with JS) or the lack of decent looking layouts.

Im still learning web development and Bigcommerce seemed to provide a lot of help at the beginning but it turns out I have to do most of the work my self. The template they provide are terrible most are duplicated with different colours. Not only the that but the code it self is messy and some even contain errors from the start. The slide-show I had to recode fully my self because because the loading speed of the slide-show would slow down the main paid loading speed to
    3-4 seconds on a really fast internet so you can imagine it on the slow one.

One of most annoying things is their Search. It does not provide filters or even correct results and often leaves customers going through 5-6 pages of results looking for the correct one. I've contacted Bigcommerce about this and they suggested SearchSpring, a 3rd party search app which does everything Bigcommerce should be doing from the beginning. Since they said this is the only option I contacted SearchSpring and they quoted me the monthly fee of £100 based on a low