1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How to change my hosting service provider?

Discussion in 'Web Hosting' started by v4vaibhav, Jun 11, 2013.

I think the title of thread says enough about my requirement. Currently I am using godaddy but I find it too slow and problematic. I am trying to change my hosting to some other service provider.

But I am not too tech savvy and I am afraid that I may mistakes, and end up screwing up all the work done so far. I don't want to loose it.

I request the experts to please take some time out and mention the step wise approach to do this, so that I don't make a mistake. Also tell the main problems which I may face from goddady and must take care of.

Thanks

v4vaibhav, Jun 11, 2013 IP
  2. Thriftypreneur

Thriftypreneur Member

Best Answers:
    I would think that all you would need to do to transfer hosting without incurring any downtime would be to completely backup your site and databases. Then, upload your backed up files to new hosting provider or have your new host assist you in setting it all up. Last, simply change your DNS information to point to the new host.

Problem solved.

Most decent hosting providers will help you move everything over once you acquire an account with them.

Good luck.

Thriftypreneur, Jun 11, 2013 IP
  3. matt_62

matt_62 Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    if you are on cpanel now, and moving to a new cpanel provider, then your host can perform a cpanel to cpanel move with just 1 click. All they need is your current username and password.
    You then just need to change your name servers to the new correct ones.