1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Can A Website Can Get Sued Or Receive A Dmca Notice? How?

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by KaushikDB, Feb 9, 2013.

Here's the scenario.
    1. I am a complete noob about this DMCA stuff.
    2. I am currently building a website where people can find download links for movies, games etc.

My question: Can I get sued?

When I first started to build my website, I knew that what I am doing wasn't quite legal but I read somewhere where if your website just contains links and the actual files of movies, copyrighted content is stored on other sites like depositfiles.com then I am not going to get sued (and there's still a lot of sites sharing links and they are still on, so I thought that's why they are still on and I started the project). But today when I went to one of my favorite sites (which is http://www.ffinsider.net/psp-isos/) I just saw a that they have received DMCA notice. So, that left me thinking about my site.

My website is not launched yet but heres a demo (http://www.vitagamer.net/Pages/Contents/Home.aspx). So, am I going to received DMCA notice?

I am not sure if I have provided all information here to answer that question and I don't know if it's the right place to ask this question. Sorry for that. Thanks for taking time to read this out.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2013
    KaushikDB, Feb 9, 2013 IP
  2. Snat

Snat Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    You will get a DMCA and it would not surprised me if someone goes after to sue you and get that website closed down. While I reckon you would be able to start that up fine for a while and make the website grow - you will get the attention of someone in time.