1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

A graphic designer seeking good marketing ideas

Discussion in 'General Marketing' started by MordM, Mar 25, 2012.

Hello

I am a graphic designer that is experienced in Corporate identity design (logos, letterheads, envelopes, businesscards), book covers design and illustrations.
    From the reviews I am getting I believe that I am a good designer, but what I am not is a good marketer.
    Therefore I decided to ask this question here in hopes of getting good ideas.

What are the best ways for me to promote myself and actually -get- customers and not just advertise with no use?

Thank you!

MordM, Mar 25, 2012 IP
  2. IM.Douglas

IM.Douglas Peon

Best Answers:
    Hi MordM,

There are lots of things you could do - the biggest piece is to build-up your portfolio that shows varied work and styles (unless you want to specialize but diversification is typically better to help generate more potential clients) and secondly to have overwhelmingly positive testimonials from your client. I am a marketer who has hired designers over the years and I look at their portfolio to see if their styles suit a particular client I may be working with as well as reading the testimonials to see the kinds of things that are being said. For example, is the designer said to be attentive to clients needs, do they offer their own ideas to help, do they go beyond what was asked to deliver exception value, etc.

Some specific promo ideas:
    -setup and sell your services at Elance, ScriptLance, Odesk, etc.
    -ask your clients if they know anyone that might need your services and would they recommend
    -have clear promotion copy in signature of every email you send