1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Help me set up a car forum!

Discussion in 'Forum Management' started by digital dream, Jan 4, 2012.

Hi everyone first off I want to say that i'm a complete noob and i'm here to learn a lot from everyone. I have many questions but i'm willing to learn! So i really like car forums and have been a member on several of them. I would like to create my own for a kind of niche community. Of course I want to make money from the website but at the same time I love cars and forums. How does this all work? Is it hard? Is it worth it? I know the basics i believe: Get a domain name, host the site, use vbulletin(seems like the best as most forums i've been to use that), get PHP 5.2.6, or later and MySQL 5.0.19 or later. Although I don't know how to put all that together :( I was looking at Glowhost and it seems they offer packages that take care of all that with vbulletin included, but then I feel like I wont learn a whole lot, lol. Anyways if I go with glowhost how will i manage the site through them or vbulletin? Also very important how to manage the forum? Do the moderators get paid? How much? Does anyone have any experience with car forums? Is it possible to make at least $100k/year? Do car manufacturers or tuning/customizing/ aftermarket companies related to the car(s) offer good pay to advertise their services on the forum? I know it requires to have a lot of members and posts/traffic but I think it can grow pretty fast. What are your guys' thoughts? Please give me any info the more realistic the better. Sorry for the long rant but I would greatly appreciate any info on this as i'm looking to make the forum soon with the upcoming 2012 NAIAS in detroit. Thanks every