1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

PHP education?

Discussion in 'PHP' started by modz, Dec 15, 2011.

I know a guy who has been studying PHP and MySQL for 2 months. He also has some basic HTML and CSS knowledge. Yesterday he told me that a week ago he made a shopping cart on his own but without using OOP - just functions, variables and arrays. He knows how to create a class and an object, what is a method, what does __construct() do and so on, but he doesn't know when to use OOP instead of functions, variables and arrays. He asked me about this, because I have some PHP experience. I told him what I thought, but I think my answer was pretty subjective, so I ask you for help. What would you tell him? He also asked me if I can give him a few ideas what script to create in order to learn the good OOP practices. I told him some stuff like login system, product manager and I also suggested him to buy a book with C/C++ exercises since most of them are doable with PHP and this book has to contain OOP exercises (otherwise it is poor). What do you recommend?

modz, Dec 15, 2011 IP
  2. codecre8r

codecre8r Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    I think he would really need to understand how OOP actually works before trying to implement it while learning. It can get a little complicated if you don't understand the underlying functionality.

The product manager example would be a good one to start with, IMHO. Show him how to create an object that manages the database and logic operations for products, and I think he would get the hang of it pretty quickly.

codecre8r, Dec 15, 2011 IP
  3. modz

modz Active Member

Best Answers:
    Thanks for the answer.