1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google XML Sitemap Plugin

Discussion in 'WordPress' started by sixrfan, Jul 5, 2011.

so i'm thinking of installing the Google XML Sitemap Plugin. I've never used a sitemap plugin before. I've been researching this one because it seems to be the most recommended but I have some questions:

1. are xml sitemaps even relevant anymore considering how quickly modern search engines are crawling sites?

2. you have to open a google account and submit this in their sitemap submission place? is that correct? i guess the plugin just generates the file, then you tell google where to find the file? is that the gist of it?

3. the description for this plugin says it also works for Bing and Yahoo. but in the multiple tutorial videos i watched everyone just showed how to submit it to Google, not the other search engines.

Please advise. thanks in advance!

Last edited: Jul 5, 2011
    sixrfan, Jul 5, 2011 IP
  2. waziuz

waziuz Active Member

Best Answers:
    1. Sitemap helps at least in pinging updates very quickly. Not a necessity but there is no reason why it should not be installed.

2. It submits to all three G, Y and B and also to ask.com .. you only need account for yahoo and a key but not for the other three.

Sitemap part of Yoast SEO does not even require yahoo registration. But I would advise you to go with Google XML Sitemap Plugin as Yoast SEO would also bring loads of other functions you might not need if you already use another SEO plugin. Yahoo registration does not take much time and it does not matter much if you dont submit to yahoo. I dont do personally on a lot of my websites and it is fine.

waziuz, Jul 6, 2011 IP
  3. sixrfan