1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Should I change category, and if so, how?

Discussion in 'ODP / DMOZ' started by dddddd, May 11, 2011.

I am a DMOZ editor, and I've listed my own business in the category I edit. However, my business recently changed its focus—drastically—and it doesn't really belong any longer in the category I edit.

I am considering requesting that my site be moved to a more appropriate category. However, my understanding is that doing so would immediately delete the site from the category I edit and place it in the queue for the category I'd be suggesting is more appropriate. And then, it would be entirely out of my hands. I could then wait months or years and there's no guarantee that the editor of the other category would approve my site soon or ever. And if I then tried to submit it to a different category, I could be docked for submitting the site multiple times (I don't believe there's a way for an editor to cancel or modify a change category request, is there?).

So I'm considering just leaving my site in the category I edit, even though it really is miscategorized and the category is extremely specific (it's a regional site, and my business is no longer region-specific).

For those who understand how DMOZ works, what would you advise me to do?