1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Coldfusion to php

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Gamer316, Dec 13, 2010.

I have a client who is requesting something I've never done before. He wants coldfusion to be switched to php. Can someone do this for me and how much would you charge.

Gamer316, Dec 13, 2010 IP
  2. Shibin Sreenivasan

Shibin Sreenivasan Active Member

Best Answers:
    we can help you with this. Please send more detais.

Shibin Sreenivasan, Dec 30, 2010 IP
  3. wasistdas

wasistdas Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    That is a strange wish as colfusion much more stable, reliable and secure than php

wasistdas, Dec 30, 2010 IP
  4. d6G0k7q2y6

d6G0k7q2y6 Peon

Best Answers:
    Agreed - very odd request.

Could maybe understand maybe Ruby or something like that, but PhP? What's the db backend, MySQL? If the backend is SQL Server/T-SQL probably better to stick with ColdFusion. There is a bit of a hiccup with ColdFusion (9) and SQL Azure, but workarounds exist. (I'm working Adobe/MS on SQL Azure compatibility issues.)

Also, there's versions to think about. ColdFusion 9 is highly expanded over its prior versions, especially the near-ubiquitous CFMX6.1 and similar CFML-processing app servers.

If already at a later version of ColdFusion (say 8 or later), migrating to PhP would be a backwards move. If on CFMX6.1/7, then maybe there's a case since CF8/9 is very CFC centric and prior versions not.

d6G0k7q2y6, Dec 31, 2010 IP
  5. Gamer316

Gamer316 Peon

Best Answers:
    I was told they want it converted because of a hosting concern. They are moving to a host that doesnt work with coldfusion and therefore they need everything placed in php.

Gamer316, Jan 6, 2011 IP