1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

what do you need to do to set up a forum like this?

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by swollenpickles, Sep 14, 2006.

what do you need to do to set up a forum like this one? I'm interested in starting one up (not related to this sort of stuff, so no direct competition to digital point), but am unsure whats involved or where to start. I like it to sit on my page somewhere: www.swollenpickles.com
    the site is put together with wordpress. I'm learning the basics of programming, but please be kind, I'm still a noob!:eek:

swollenpickles, Sep 14, 2006 IP
  2. phoenixcarpet

phoenixcarpet Peon

Best Answers:
    That is a blog template. Just search start a blog and you will find the info you want.

phoenixcarpet, Sep 14, 2006 IP
  3. jawinn

jawinn Active Member

Best Answers:
    The best advice I can give you is to just spend the $130 for a vB license and start playing around with it. You'll really want to familiarize yourself with how the back end control panel works before you start inviting people to your new forum. A basic understanding of HTML, PHP, and MySql would also be helpful. Lastly really hit the vB sites. There is a ton of good stuff here (DP), but also check out vbulletin.com and vbulletin.org. Hope this helps.

jawinn, Sep 14, 2006 IP
  4. swollenpickles

swollenpickles Active Member

Best Answers:
    So you need to pay for a vB license? Is this software that I would need to run from my PC or something I would have the hosting company run on their server?

swollenpickles, Sep 14, 2006 IP
  5. jawinn

jawinn Active Member

Best Answers: