1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Ghostwriting

Discussion in 'Copywriting' started by writesolutions, Jan 26, 2010.

Hi all,

I have been a freelance writer for few years. However, all my work is as a ghost writer.
    Now, if I want to expand my writing base, I do not have any writing samples, published in my name except few at ezines and my blog.
    I want to develop a professional website for my freelance writing business.
    Can I link those ghost written articles as my own samples?
    Please suggest how should I build my portfolio?

Looking for genuine suggestions.

Thanks

writesolutions, Jan 26, 2010 IP
  2. jhmattern

jhmattern Illustrious Member

Best Answers:
    You cannot take credit in any way for ghostwritten material without the client's permission. That's what ghostwritten means -- you're a "ghost." No one is supposed to see you within the scope of the project. If you want to link to them in a portfolio, you're claiming authorship. You should talk to your clients and see if they'll grant you permission. In the future, you might want to include a clause stating that you can use work in your portfolio (of course, then it's not fully ghostwritten, so if it's important that the client be seen as the sole author they might not be willing to sign on).

In the meantime, do some credited work for a nonprofit, guest post on some popular blogs, etc. Those are ways to get credible by-lined samples for your portfolio. There's nothing wrong with using your own blog posts in your portfolio, so for now put them to use.

jhmattern, Jan 26, 2010 IP
  3. seojonrich

seojonrich Peon

Best Answers: