1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Where is all the Traffic?

Discussion in 'General Marketing' started by Kylven, May 26, 2009.

I’m posting this to see if I’m completely oblivious as to how to build traffic. I’ve been an amateur web developer for sometime, mainly as a hobby, but I can’t figure out why I’m not seeing the traffic most others claim. I can’t recall how many posts here or on other forums or blogs where web publishers estimate their traffic to begin at 100 visits per day during the first month to thousands just six months later. I must be doing something wrong and need your advice. Here is what I have done so far for the website in my signature:

- Search Engine Optimized to the best of my ability
    - Published 4 articles on over 100 article sites
    - Used Pingomatic to notify when I publish a new piece
    - Social bookmarked many articles on sites, such as Digg
    - Networked on Twitter and Facebook
    - Submitted to 50 or so Carnivals
    - Commented on roughly 50 related blogs a number of times
    - Posted 20+ times in 5 popular related forums
    - Submitted to well over 50 directories

…and I’m only getting roughly 20 visits a day. I understand my site is only 6 months old, but how are these other webmasters getting 100+ in the first month and progressing to thousands six months later. I just don’t get it and need your opinions.

Kylven, May 26, 2009 IP
  2. copper12

copper12 Peon

Best Answers:
    Sorry, but you are doing everything wrong.

But, you didn't know that these methods are useless. Now you know.

If you did do it right, it still does not mean you will land high enough to be seen. It is not guaranteed. Many don't get listed. That's just the way it is.