Hi, I have looking at the effectiveness of Google CPM ads in recent weeks. These types of ads are obviously the big payers on Digital Point, Myspace, Plenty Of Fish and so on. I guess monster traffic is naturally gonna be the key! One question I do have, which isn't really answered online clearly, is how is the CPM value determined? And how can I raise this amount? Is this simply determined by advertisers choosing which blogs/websites to use and then bidding between each other to determine the value? I am not really clear on how the Adwords campaigns really function! I have seen in the past a CPM value jump from $0.02, to $0.20... (obv w/out clicks), but what is a good average? I am just looking at the long term and like the idea of being able to earn money without the requirement of a web user having to click anywhere on the page. Thanks.
Cheers for the feedback guys. I have become much more interested in CPM ads after reading a blog post on Labnol.org. This is the jist of the posting that got me thinking...
40,000 daily uniques (Rough estimate 80,000 impressions) (1000 impressions is $25 and so $25 x 80 = $2000 (£1400.00 a day here in the UK, that's a hell of a lot)
So what did you mean when said that more keywords related content brought a higher eCPM? Related ads to keywords means nothing if people don't click on ads, right?