1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

phpMyAdmin exports empty sql files

Discussion in 'Databases' started by 1959, Dec 15, 2008.

I am managing my first server and learning the ropes. This question probably has some overlap into the server administration forum.

There is a big database on my site, about 900mb, that I would like to back up by exporting from phpMyAdmin. The sql file that is exported downloads instantly, is empty, and the file size is 0 bytes.

I am guessing that large size of the database means that it can't be downloaded without changing some settings on the server. I have root access but I'm not too experienced :)

The server details:
    Plesk version psa v8.3.0_build83080131.20 os_FedoraCore 7
    Operating system Linux 2.6.23.15-80.fc7

I also tried to back up the databases using SSH commands, everything goes fine until it's time to write the database, when it tells me "can't write to folder".

Thanks for any guidance while I get the hang of this and learn how to fend for myself :)

1959, Dec 15, 2008 IP
  2. QiSoftware

QiSoftware Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    you have the right permissions set on the folder, right? That said-- I was trying to load a 1.9MB sql file via phymyadmin yesterday and it kept hanging. How many tables does the database have and can you export it table by table?

Q...

QiSoftware, Dec 15, 2008 IP
  3. ilajas

ilajas Peon

Best Answers:
    Perhaps you forgot to select all tables when exporting the database using phpmyadmin.

If you have root access, try using this command

mysqldump -u root -p thepassword --all-databases | gzip > backup.sql.gz

The backup file will be on your root folder.

ilajas, Dec 15, 2008 IP
  4. Optiplex Line