1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Why I'm Giving up Coding...

Discussion in 'PHP' started by LimeKID, Dec 5, 2008.

1. FriendlyBear

FriendlyBear Active Member

Best Answers:
    LimeKID, the answer to is it worth the time is: YES. Someone's got to do the job.

That's a challenge - and challenges make life real.

If you've been doing that since 11 - you should be a pro by now ! Don't give up and keep it up!

FriendlyBear, Dec 8, 2008 IP
  2. xxKillswitch

xxKillswitch Peon

Best Answers:
    I am a rather young developer, but my PHP skills have progressed very fast. I have found PHP to be a very secure language. My personal finding of insecure code is just not understanding where attacks be come into play in your script.

For example, EVERY PHP coders knows how to prevent SQL injections, excape XSS attacks, and so on. What developers might not notice initially are attacks like CSRF attacks.

( For anyone out there that is a PHP dev and do not know how to do any of the above or even know what a CSRF attack is, better do some reading and fast. )

I have found that the best exploits come in from sources you don't expect them. Possibilities are not escaping or cleaning Pagination information, not type casting, etc. For example, if you expect pagination results, check them for integer values and set them to intvals. If you allow an 'All' result, check for int first, if not int check that it is no more than three chars long (or just return the first three chars ).

A few things I always keep in mind when coding is :
    Can anything in the current script be used improperly to perform a malicious or unwanted effect?