1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Why I'm Giving up Coding...

Discussion in 'PHP' started by LimeKID, Dec 5, 2008.

I don't know where to begin but I'll keep this short and sweet and maybe someone can help.

I'm a designer/developer have been designing for 10 years (since i was 11). But the more i try to develop in PHP the more i find out my applications are not secure. I tried reading about security risks (XSS attacks etc) but it just seems to boggle my brain. I was currently going through the Zend Framework and seeing if i could start to learn that platform but learning takes time and when you have many projects to work on, time is really limited.

I'm not saying i haven't progressed as a php developer but is it really worth it? The amount of time it takes plus worries that your code isn't secure have lead me to believe it would be better to give up and concentrate on designing...

All opinions welcomed i'm not easily offended but go easy on me lol :p

LimeKID, Dec 5, 2008 IP
  2. joebert

joebert Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Woohoo! More pie for me! :D

You're still young, the older you get, the more likely you are to already have security built-in to your development because you get tired of getting robbed.
    When you're young, you haven't been robbed as much and you tend to focus more on innovation.

Maybe you need a mentor or partner that can lock things down behind you.

joebert, Dec 6, 2008 IP
  3. LimeKID

LimeKID Peon

Best Answers: