1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Which is the best forum software right now (2013)?

Discussion in 'Forum Management' started by boyuancy, Mar 19, 2013.

Hi guys. I've been looking to start a forum in the coming months and I'm stuck with deciding the forum software.

I had zeroed in on vBulletin (but it was a close one with XenForo). Now that vBulletin 5 is out, I'm not so sure...

It seems like vBulletin 5 is still in the beta-ish phase with people trying to figure out things. I'm yet to see a custom vBulletin skin (one of the most important things for my forum - styling and branding).

Also, being a newbie, I'm not sure if would be the best option for me. Moreover, I don't want to install vBulletin 4.2 and miss out on any new features when I will be paying for the full suite anyway.

Now I really liked XenForo the first time I saw it but I'm not so sure. It looks like you cannot really customize it.

Which forum software would you go for (considering that you had a budget of ~$250 - most forum software fall under it)?

By the way, my forum is going to have tons of sub-forums just like DP. :)

boyuancy, Mar 19, 2013 IP
  2. RobertWoges

RobertWoges Member

Best Answers:
    Why don't you try agriya's free discuzz forum software.

RobertWoges, Mar 20, 2013 IP
  3. SSC

SSC Active Member

Best Answers:
    Why not try some free forum software(s) first? That's how i started... I tried PHPBB, but it got hacked couple of times, and i came to realize that its not secure. At one time, i have found that even their main forum phpbb.com got hacked, and someone posted their database (including member base) online.