1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

IE6 Width 'vs' IE 7 Width

Discussion in 'CSS' started by --Q--, Aug 4, 2008.

Hi

I'm fairly new to CSS for website design so please bear this in mind when flaming me for my obvious short comings. This is only the third website I've created using XHTML and CSS so I still class myself as a novice! (with big ideas - therein lies the problem)

http://www.quentinjames.co.uk/dynatek1/

I've designed and created the site above but have noticed several problems when switching between browsers. The main problem is that the 'wrapper' div seems to be wider on the right when viewed in IE6. This problem is not apparent in any other browser.

I am a Mac based designer so testing the site is not easy for me and I am relying on an aging version of Virtual PC and various browser capture websites for testing. I've tried removing various 'divs' in turn to see if I can find the problem by trial and error bu this has not proved successful.

Any tips or clues as to my problem would be gratefully received!

Cheers

Q

--Q--, Aug 4, 2008 IP
  2. Thomas_Horton

Thomas_Horton Member

Best Answers:
    I've tested your site in IE6,7,8beta and FF. I see no diffrence at in the browsers. Did you already solved it? The only thing I see is that the site is left aligned whil you might wanted to center it?

Thomas_Horton, Aug 4, 2008 IP
  3. deathshadow

deathshadow Acclaimed Member

Best Answers:
    I'm not exactly seeing a difference here either, though it's hard to tell if that's an intentional layout or one giant rendering error.