![]() |
|
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
HELP whats 208.66.195.9 up too?
Whats 208.66.195.9 up too? Look at the picture below been doing that for about an hour.
![]() What does it mean? Should I ban the IP address? |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Actually its changeing IP within 208.66.195.xx
It/they have gone: 208.66.195.9 208.66.195.2 208.66.195.5 |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
maybe an unknown search bot/spider, or someone scraping your site, that wouldnt be nice
__________________
Auto Blog - Emo MySpace Layouts - -
|
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
It's really hard to say what's the final goal of this bot. The only thing for certain is that it's indexing or fetching your pages.
|
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
It seams to have stopped now after using 208.66.195.6 & 208.66.195.3
uuum, I wish googlebot would come along and index properly but no I get idiot mistery 208.66.195.xx bot! lol Whats scraping? |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Here are the details oif that spider, or at least the Ip.
http://mccolo.com/english/ OrgName: McColo Corporation OrgID: MCCOL Address: 125 E. Delaware Ave. City: Newark StateProv: DE PostalCode: 19711 Country: US NetRange: 208.66.192.0 - 208.66.195.255 CIDR: 208.66.192.0/22 NetName: MCCOLO NetHandle: NET-208-66-192-0-1 Parent: NET-208-0-0-0-0 NetType: Direct Allocation NameServer: NS01.MCCOLO.COM NameServer: NS02.MCCOLO.COM Comment: RegDate: 2006-04-27 Updated: 2006-04-27 RNOCHandle: MCCOL1-ARIN RNOCName: McColo NOC RNOCPhone: 1-347-624-6567 RNOCEmail: noc@mccolo.com OrgTechHandle: MCCOL1-ARIN OrgTechName: McColo NOC OrgTechPhone: 1-347-624-6567 OrgTechEmail: noc@mccolo.com OrgName: Digital Infinity Ltd OrgID: DIL-32 Address: Ostrovityanova str 14 200 City: Moscow StateProv: PostalCode: Country: RU NetRange: 208.66.195.0 - 208.66.195.15 CIDR: 208.66.195.0/28 NetName: DIGITALINFINITY NetHandle: NET-208-66-195-0-1 Parent: NET-208-66-192-0-1 NetType: Reassigned Comment: RegDate: 2006-05-31 Updated: 2006-05-31 RAbuseHandle: SUPPO189-ARIN RAbuseName: Support RAbusePhone: 7 (495) 980-6635 RAbuseEmail: noc@digitalinfinity.org OrgTechHandle: SUPPO189-ARIN OrgTechName: Support OrgTechPhone: 7 (495) 980-6635 OrgTechEmail: noc@digitalinfinity.org Suggest you contact them and ask them what is happening. |
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks Welsh,
Ive sent them an email to ask them what they where doing. They have stopped now but Id rather they didnt come back and hog my bandwidth without a reason. |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Block the IP range in your htaccess file. they will then not be allowed access to the site
|
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
no reply from them yet. I may phone them if they dont reply.
|
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
ehh don't bother it is useles really .... if you don't like them on your site ban and thats it ...
__________________
PM me if you need WP Theme or Niche Site made! Property For Sale | Find Property to Renovate |
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
I am with 'block em' as well
![]() My guess is that they are a hosting company who have rented space to some dude who is scraping your content. |
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
this may be an older thread, but i found it by searching for 208.66.195 which just came thru a wasted my months bandwidth, i banned them thru htaccess and asked my host to ban them all around
did anyone get any word as to who they were? |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
I searched around for a bit and found that it could be a possible DDoS attempt; I would definately ban it.
IP DDoS Attempt Log - Find the Domain Results from Google
__________________
|
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
This bot is downloading all the content on my site including stylesheets and pdfs. I've never banned any IPs before. Is it best to set htaccess to deny 208.66.195. ?
|
|
#16
|
||||
|
||||
|
I would do it immediately. You can always change it at later date.
__________________
Shannon - . Controllable Christmas Lights for Celiac Disease : Zend Certified Engineer : Preschool Curriculum Ideas : Restorable Iron |
|
#17
|
||||
|
||||
|
Add this to your htaccess file
order allow,deny deny from 208.66.195. This will block all acesses from the above domain and any subdomins at that address as well. |
|
#18
|
||||
|
||||
|
I did hear from the company and they said they would look into it. But havnt heard back from them since.
Do you think it could be an back link checker on a site they host maybe? Its left me alone now but if I see it again I will ban it. |
|
#20
|
|||
|
|||
|
I have a FrontPage website on a window server and I too am visited by the 208 etcetera bot. Any direction you might give me on how I can block this thing from entering my site?
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| AWStats Shows 1363 page views, Google shows 195 ??? | 313i | Traffic Analysis | 13 | Jul 11th 2007 4:31 am |
| Whats next for me? | Ernster | PHP | 9 | Dec 28th 2006 1:51 pm |
| whats this do!! | Jim bob 9 pants | JavaScript | 6 | Nov 22nd 2006 5:48 am |
| 1 PR 4, 70 PR 3 and 195 PR 2 links only $15 per month | WorldImpulse | Link Sales | 1 | Sep 4th 2005 12:42 pm |
| Whats Better? | just-4-teens | General Marketing | 10 | Apr 16th 2005 11:45 pm |