1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Running a Directory as a full time Business

Discussion in 'Directories' started by JamieG, Apr 17, 2008.

I'm a student so my interests in directories doesn't pay me any money that I could call a salary and I've often wondered if all directories owners are in the same sitauation as me, or if there are any directory owners who actually own and declare their directory income as a full time occupation? Would I be right that there aren't any directories that could be called a proper business?

JamieG, Apr 17, 2008 IP
  2. hans

hans Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    any source of revenue is "business" that may need to be declared revenue
    but directories often have near zero traffic and near zero value - at least as long as directories have a PR less than 5. thus as a source of partial or full income while being student - sharing knowledge in a blog definitely may help far more people - thus resulting in much higher revenue than a directory ever could.
    technical blogs or content pages may easily finance your student years if you invest as many hours as those students do who work as taxi drivers or bar tenders or other night time / weekend / vacation - student jobs.

hans, Apr 17, 2008 IP
  3. JamieG

JamieG Banned

Best Answers:
    I agree with what you say but I'm wanting to know if people actually operate and declare their directories as legitimate business's. Say for example like Yahoo might.

JamieG, Apr 17, 2008 IP
  4. hans

hans Well-Known Member

Best Answers: