1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

What is the best way to learn PHP?

Discussion in 'PHP' started by CaffinePhil, Feb 15, 2008.

I have just got my head around HTML and the basics of CSS and I want to learn PHP, can anyone recommend tutorials/books/sites or even a method of learning? I have never done anything with programming before.

Also do I need to have a domain with hosting to test out/write scripts?

CaffinePhil, Feb 15, 2008 IP
  2. nico_swd

nico_swd Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    This is a common question, and has been answered numerous times. Not trying to be a bitch, but search the forums for "learning PHP".

No, you can set up your local server. Install XAMPP:
    http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp.html

nico_swd, Feb 15, 2008 IP
  3. Cobnut

Cobnut Peon

Best Answers:
    ... or you could go the whole hog and install Apache/PHP/MySQL, it's really a lot easier than you might think, pretty much point and click.

If you're going to be developing/building sites it's a good idea to get yourself an 'offline' development environment anyway.

Jon

Cobnut, Feb 15, 2008 IP
  4. nico_swd

nico_swd Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    That's exactly what XAMPP does. It's really easy to install and use.

nico_swd, Feb 15, 2008 IP
  5. blueparukia

blueparukia Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Meh I could never really get how to do it (without an all-in-one pack). So I installed uniform server, and now I can't get PgSQL to work with it :( My knowledge has come a long way since then though, so I may try again sometime.

blueparukia, Feb 15, 2008 IP
  6. Tim Rogers

Tim Rogers Guest

Best Answers: