Digital Point Forums
westernunion

Go Back   Digital Point Forums > Search Engines > Google > AdSense
Google Analytics
Log In to view
your analytics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 2:57 am
oziii's Avatar
oziii oziii is offline
Champion of the Naaru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 221
oziii is on a distinguished road
Secret AdSense Advisory Council

Has anyone heard of the AdSense Advisory Council before?

It seems some publishers are being invited to join it to help shape AdSense.
__________________
Make Money Online Blogging :: Six Figure Blogging :: ::
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 3:08 am
grg's Avatar
grg grg is offline
Starcaller
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: eu
Posts: 2,683
grg is a jewel in the roughgrg is a jewel in the roughgrg is a jewel in the roughgrg is a jewel in the rough
Right. Sounds like...

Quote:
Dear winner
This is to inform you that you have won a prize money of Five hundred
thousand, Great Britain Pound Sterlings(£500,000.00) for the
no spam no fun?
__________________
FREE PROXY Promotion
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 3:10 am
oziii's Avatar
oziii oziii is offline
Champion of the Naaru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 221
oziii is on a distinguished road
LOL - hehe, does sound a little bizarre - but it's actually serious. The email came from a reliable source who wouldn't make this up.
__________________
Make Money Online Blogging :: Six Figure Blogging :: ::
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 3:16 am
had had is offline
Grunt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 74
had is on a distinguished road
and what was google email where mail came from?
__________________
had - blogopool - -
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 3:19 am
grg's Avatar
grg grg is offline
Starcaller
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: eu
Posts: 2,683
grg is a jewel in the roughgrg is a jewel in the roughgrg is a jewel in the roughgrg is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by oziii View Post
LOL - hehe, does sound a little bizarre - but it's actually serious. The email came from a reliable source who wouldn't make this up.
From where? Can you paste full header of this email?
__________________
FREE PROXY Promotion
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 3:19 am
norfstar's Avatar
norfstar norfstar is offline
of the Nightfall
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norfolk, England.
Posts: 1,133
norfstar has a spectacular aura aboutnorfstar has a spectacular aura aboutnorfstar has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
“I agree. I understand that information provided to me as part of the Online Advisory Council is Google Confidential Information under the applicable Google AdSense terms and conditions.”

Please note that by sending such a reply you are guaranteeing Google that you have legal authority to accept these terms.
I've never seen Google ask for anything like this by email before - its always been a checkbox on the website for which the user is registering. Not that that necessarily means this is fake, just slightly unusual.
__________________
Jack Parnell
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 3:28 am
oziii's Avatar
oziii oziii is offline
Champion of the Naaru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 221
oziii is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by grg View Post
From where? Can you paste full header of this email?
it came from

From: adsense-research@google.com
Subject: You're Invited to the AdSense Online Advisory Council
Date: 16 August 2007
To: xxxxx@xxxxx.com
Reply-To: adsense-research@google.com
__________________
Make Money Online Blogging :: Six Figure Blogging :: ::
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 4:27 am
rustybrick's Avatar
rustybrick rustybrick is offline
User ID 3
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 363
rustybrick has a spectacular aura aboutrustybrick has a spectacular aura aboutrustybrick has a spectacular aura about
Darren,

This seems to be legit, I got one of these emails from Google in February 2006 on their beta advisory council.
__________________
Barry Schwartz, CEO of RustyBrick - Web Development

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 4:31 am
syedwasi87's Avatar
syedwasi87 syedwasi87 is offline
of the Nightfall
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: www.iraad.com
Posts: 2,144
syedwasi87 has a spectacular aura aboutsyedwasi87 has a spectacular aura aboutsyedwasi87 has a spectacular aura about
hmm

do you make a lot from adsense per mo?

email looks legit...
__________________
SEO Copywriting | Social Bookmarks | |
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 4:38 am
pablo's Avatar
pablo pablo is offline
Hand of A'dal
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cork, .ie
Posts: 276
pablo is on a distinguished road
I have never in my 3 years of using Adsense gotten one of these.
__________________
Bloggers Rankings List ~ Wordze Coupons ~
A NEW Helpful
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 5:32 am
amitpagarwal's Avatar
amitpagarwal amitpagarwal is offline
Hand of A'dal
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: labnol.org
Posts: 375
amitpagarwal will become famous soon enough
This looks legit - Google generally sends email via adsense-research@google.com when requesting feedback.
__________________
AdSense Sandbox
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 6:44 am
grg's Avatar
grg grg is offline
Starcaller
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: eu
Posts: 2,683
grg is a jewel in the roughgrg is a jewel in the roughgrg is a jewel in the roughgrg is a jewel in the rough
Ok. So let's us know, if more info will come.
__________________
FREE PROXY Promotion
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 7:13 am
profitline's Avatar
profitline profitline is offline
Hand of A'dal
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 384
profitline is on a distinguished road
this looks interesting and to see a google council setup for the people.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 7:39 am
bpmonaco bpmonaco is offline
Grunt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 43
bpmonaco is on a distinguished road
As I posted in your comment section, Darren, it sounds legit. The email address is in usual Google-form. It would also be difficult to just email the top earners/contributors, without spamming everyone else. The email also doesn't ask for any more info than just you returning that statement.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 1:33 pm
trichnosis trichnosis is offline
Herald of the Titans
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: use this space for 15$/month
Posts: 13,721
trichnosis has much to be proud oftrichnosis has much to be proud oftrichnosis has much to be proud oftrichnosis has much to be proud oftrichnosis has much to be proud oftrichnosis has much to be proud oftrichnosis has much to be proud oftrichnosis has much to be proud oftrichnosis has much to be proud oftrichnosis has much to be proud of
i have read yur blog post but what's the aim of this council?

and what are the criterias for selecting people to there?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 6:59 pm
oziii's Avatar
oziii oziii is offline
Champion of the Naaru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 221
oziii is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by trichnosis View Post
i have read yur blog post but what's the aim of this council?

and what are the criterias for selecting people to there?
No idea - seems to be publishers who have significant traffic/earnings.
__________________
Make Money Online Blogging :: Six Figure Blogging :: ::
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 7:06 pm
Tearabite's Avatar
Tearabite Tearabite is offline
Starcaller
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 4,112
Tearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond reputeTearabite has a reputation beyond repute
It looks legit...
I have significant traffic/earnings .. Now i feel left-out...
__________________
----------------> I tell it all in MyBlog ... No spam, no BS..

Last edited by Tearabite; Aug 16th 2007 at 7:27 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old Aug 16th 2007, 7:22 pm
godmode godmode is offline
Starcaller
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,417
godmode is a splendid one to beholdgodmode is a splendid one to beholdgodmode is a splendid one to beholdgodmode is a splendid one to beholdgodmode is a splendid one to beholdgodmode is a splendid one to beholdgodmode is a splendid one to behold
yeah looks legit. I did a quick google for that email and look what i found some new info on PSA ads

http://www.google.com/services/charity_ads.html

and this page says;

Quote:
Please send your feedback to: adsense-research@google.com by 1/26/2003.
I didnt know PSA ads are more than the usual hurricane ads. There are other formats. Check the above link.

Reps appreciated!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top Secret Report Reveals Shocking Secret :- How To Get Free Traffic From Google Now! latiff Freebies 35 Aug 8th 2008 8:51 am
Secret of Adsense Position [ Adsense Awstats ] dely^gun AdSense 14 Jul 23rd 2008 10:59 pm
Council Job Application Rohit patel Movies & Music 2 May 20th 2007 8:06 am
Ad Council Ads SamOwen Affiliate Programs 0 Feb 20th 2006 5:15 pm
Iran was just sent to the UN security Council.. ly2 Politics & Religion 1 Feb 5th 2006 5:55 am


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:38 am.