Passing variables from pop-up window to parent window.

Discussion in 'JavaScript' started by FRYO, Oct 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. #1
    Hello,

    I made a code to pass variables from pop-up window to parent window. Unfortunately this code is only working on Mozilla FireFox and not Internet Explorer. Can anyone help in this?

    JavaScript function to pass variables and close pop-up window:
    	function setValues()
    	{
    		var txt = document.getElementById("text").value;
    		var font_size = document.getElementById("font_size").value;
    		var font = document.getElementById("font");
    		font = font.options[font.selectedIndex].value;
    		var text_location = document.getElementById("text_location");
    		text_location = text_location.options[text_location.selectedIndex].value;
    		var color = document.getElementById("color").value;
    		
    		if (txt.length < 1 || font.length < 1 || font_size.length < 1 || font_size.toInt() < 1 || 
    				font.length < 1 || text_location.length < 1 || color.length != 7 || color[0] != '#')
    		{
    			alert("Please fill out all the fields correctly!");
    			return false;
    		}
    		
    		var ncolor = parseInt(color.substr(1,2), 16) + "," + parseInt(color.substr(3,2), 16) + "," + parseInt(color.substr(5,2), 16);
    		
    		
    		opener.document.getElementById("text").value = txt;
    		opener.document.getElementById("font").value = font;
    		opener.document.getElementById("font_size").value = font_size;
    		opener.document.getElementById("text_location").value = text_location;
    		opener.document.getElementById("color").value = ncolor;
    		self.close();
    		return false;
    	}
    Code (markup):
     
    FRYO, Oct 25, 2005 IP
  2. dave487

    dave487 Peon

    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    I do this with the following script, it works in IE:

    Main page:
    
    <form>
    <input type=button name=choice onClick="window.open('page.php3','popuppage','width=850,toolbar=1,resizable=1,scrollbars=yes,height=700,top=100,left=100');" value="Select from Database">
    </form>
    
    HTML:
    Popup page:
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    <!-- Begin
    function sendValue<?php echo "" . $data['id'] . ""; ?>(s){
    var selvalue = s.value;
    window.opener.document.form.details.value = selvalue;
    window.opener.document.form.id.value = <?php echo "" . $data['id'] . "";?>;
    window.close();
    }
    //  End -->
    </script>
    <form name="selectform<?php echo "" . $data['id'] . "";?>">
    <input type="hidden" name="details" value="<?php echo "" . $data['name'] . "" ?> <?php echo "" . $data['address'] . "" ?> <?php echo "" . $data['phone'] . "" ?>">
    <input type=button value="Copy to Form" onClick="sendValue<?php echo "" . $data['id'] . "";?>(this.form.details);">
    </form>
    
    HTML:
     
    dave487, Oct 26, 2005 IP
  3. FRYO

    FRYO Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    118
    #3
    Thanks for your help Dave but I dont think this is working with me.

    Anybody else can help?
     
    FRYO, Oct 30, 2005 IP
  4. killer2021

    killer2021 Peon

    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    14
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Not working for me either :(
     
    killer2021, Nov 11, 2008 IP
  5. rene7705

    rene7705 Peon

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Tested in IE and FF;

    file t1.html
    
    <!--compatibility mode-->
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html>
    	<body>
    <form>
    	<input id="details" name="details">
    	<input type="button" name="choice" onClick="window.open('t2.html','popuppage','width=850,toolbar=1,resizable=1,scrollbars=yes,height=700,top=100,left=100');" value="Open popup">
    </form>
    </body>
    </html>
    
    Code (markup):
    file t2.html:
    
    <!--compatibility mode-->
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    </head>
    <body>
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    <!-- Begin
    function sendValue (s){
    var selvalue = s.value;
    window.opener.document.getElementById('details').value = selvalue;
    window.close();
    }
    //  End -->
    </script>
    <form name="selectform">
    <input name="details" value="">
    <input type=button value="Copy input to parent opener" onClick="sendValue(this.form.details);">
    </form> 
    
    </body>
    </html>
    
    Code (markup):
    Note that if you run this from your local harddrive, IE will likely display an activeX warning. This doesn't happen when you put it on a webserver.
     
    rene7705, Nov 12, 2008 IP
  6. Varsys Inc.

    Varsys Inc. Peon

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    That works. Thanks for helpful info.
     
    Varsys Inc., Dec 8, 2008 IP
  7. chxxangie

    chxxangie Peon

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    how to get the pop window value to the frame in parent window?
    thanks in advance...
     
    chxxangie, Jan 14, 2009 IP
  8. baybossplaya

    baybossplaya Active Member

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #8
    <!--compatibility mode-->
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    </head>
    <body>
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    <!-- Begin
    function sendValue (s){
    var selvalue = s.value;
    window.opener.document.getElementById('details').value = selvalue;
    window.close();
    }
    //  End -->
    </script>
    <form name="selectform">
    <input name="details" value="">
    <input type=button value="Copy input to parent opener" onClick="sendValue(this.form.details);">
    </form> 
    
    </body>
    </html>
    Code (markup):
     
    baybossplaya, Feb 11, 2009 IP
  9. mudassar anwar

    mudassar anwar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #9
    is this code still work?
     
    mudassar anwar, May 3, 2009 IP
  10. yantomulia

    yantomulia Peon

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    very old thread, is it still work?
     
    yantomulia, May 28, 2009 IP
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.