![]() |
|
|
|
||||||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Fraudulent Directory Submitter - Dirmania.org and Webdesignoffice.us
I just wanted to warn fellow directory owners of a fraudulent submitter I keep getting.
I keep getting paid submissions for the urls dirmania.org and webdesignoffice.us. What happens is that someone pays to submit these sites then a few days later paypal puts a hold on the funds saying that they are investigating. After the investigation, the funds are reversed. Then, the sites get re-submitted with a different paypal address and the process repeats itself. This has happened across several directories, and several times for each directory - it's not a one-off occurrence. I did a search of the archives and turned up this thread: http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=125320 Although the scam was different, it does seem that the owner of these urls is less than completely honest. Don't bother approving these urls. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
It's really sad to see paypal being used to easily for something like that. Thanks for pointing him out!!
|
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
yes thanks for letting everyone no,
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks for the heads up.
Will keep this in mind if it happens to me. |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Jeff thanks too for the heads up
Let's keep working together to assist all genuine Directory Owners |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
So, we're talking about webfreak80 here?
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Alive Directory was gettng them too, for the same site.
Thanks for the heads up to everyone else. you must spread some Reputation around before giving it to onlinedude again.
__________________
PR6 Kwika Web Directory <--Gaming Pagerank and Google can't touch it! |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks - will ban the domains ahead of time.
__________________
. |
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks for the heads up!
|
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Yes, same received on two directories. Definitely not a directory to do business with, it would seem.
|
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks Onlinedude!
I've put some filters on these. The warning is much appreciated. |
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks,
Really stupid guy, to submit using fake credit cards or other form of fraud. You just take the link out on reversal, he gets the link for 1 week. Really stupid. Cheers
__________________
...... ...... ...... |
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks Jeff..
I'm going to ban this directory
|
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks onlinedude (Jeff) for inform us regarding this. Will take care of it.
BTW when i search this in DP then i found this dirmania.org link in DP user webfreak80 signature so maybe he knows the owner of this directory.
__________________
Web Hosting | Buy Steroids | Dedicated Servers 1 Way Text Links Per $1.40 12 Months Permanent Link Guarantee Last edited by deluxdon; Nov 20th 2006 at 10:06 pm. Reason: More Info |
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
|
Well, he claims to be Roberto Duran and recently bought a frontpage featured link at www.permalinks.org
And yes, the funds are now held by paypal currently. Upon personally contacting him, he says that he has spend a good sum on advertising in a short period...so paypal has put a hold on the transactions made by him. He has faxed his papers to paypal for verification. PayPal sent me a mail regarding the hold and asked me to furnish details about the transaction to make the review process faster. I did so and waiting for it. BTW, he is not using credit card or echeck...but paypal balance to fund this transactions. In my PayPal account history, I see the payment sender's name matches with the one in his email id...so, lets see how this goes. Also I dont think prebanning someone for the sake of a suspected scam is any good...what will you lose if the payment is reversed ? Just take the link off... I think that's a good business practice. |
|
#16
|
||||
|
||||
|
I have the same issue going on with this guy submitting to www.bestdirs.com . PayPal froze the funds and investigating the case. I'll just remove his link and done deal. I will also forward PayPal to this thread so they know whats going on.
|
|
#17
|
||||
|
||||
|
I just sent him a mail to check this thread and clarify whats going on...
Let's see if he replies. |
|
#18
|
||||
|
||||
|
I also added negative itrader for him.
|
|
#19
|
||||
|
||||
|
I have no problems with anyone being proactive and pre-banning someone with a past history of scamming others.
__________________
. |
|
#20
|
||||
|
||||
|
This happens regularly and I normally wouldn't bother posting about it. This guy just sticks out because it has happened repeatedly, across several directories plus more than once to the same directory.
I get a similar scam all the time and it is frustrating that paypal allows it. I mean, if someone really used your paypal funds without authorization, why did you they use the funds to submit your own website to a directory? Let me get this straight - they stole your money and used it to help you? GRRRRRRR. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Directory Submitter Software | mystikmedia | Directories | 234 | Today 1:55 pm |
| Website Submitter - new directory submitter software | mmariusel | Directories | 604 | Nov 22nd 2008 1:01 pm |
| Directory Submitter needed | Dazed_and_confused | Services | 3 | Sep 10th 2006 5:29 pm |
| Looking for Directory submitter | theyoungpretender | Services | 3 | Aug 27th 2006 1:23 pm |
| Directory Submitter | Zany_Jim | All Other Tools | 20 | Jul 4th 2006 9:43 am |