1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Just need to raise upload limit via php.ini

Discussion in 'PHP' started by PPowerHouseK, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. #1
    Hello all,

    I am currently renting some hosting space from godaddy.com on a windows server. Not sure which apache version, but php5. I contacted them due to my inability to upload any files greater than 8 MB and they said "Just upload a php5.ini in the root directory, good luck!"
    So , since everything else on the site is working perfectly, I would greatly appreciate if someone could show me how to make it just do that(if at all possible). I believe its a upload_max_filesize command but im sure there needs to be other commands. My unexperience attempts seem to just render the site inoperative as soon as i upload it. Thanks in advance
     
    PPowerHouseK, Apr 6, 2010 IP
  2. JAY6390

    JAY6390 Peon

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    upload_max_filesize = 64M
     
    JAY6390, Apr 6, 2010 IP
  3. PPowerHouseK

    PPowerHouseK Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    yes that's what im trying to do, how do i accomplish this?
     
    PPowerHouseK, Apr 6, 2010 IP
  4. JAY6390

    JAY6390 Peon

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    put it in a file called php5.ini in your main web directory
     
    JAY6390, Apr 6, 2010 IP
  5. PPowerHouseK

    PPowerHouseK Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Well that broke it... it just goes blank now. Anyone else?
     
    PPowerHouseK, Apr 6, 2010 IP
  6. guardian999

    guardian999 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    #6
    
    ini_set("post_max_size", "64M");
    ini_set("upload_max_filesize", "64M");
    ini_set("memory_limit", -1 );
    
    PHP:
    place it in top of the code.
     
    guardian999, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  7. PPowerHouseK

    PPowerHouseK Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Well that did not seem to work either, as it went blank again. Here is the exact contents of the php5.ini file that I have uploaded to my server root directory:

    ini_set("post_max_size", "64M");
    ini_set("upload_max_filesize", "64M");
    ini_set("memory_limit", -1 );

    upload_max_filesize = 64M

    Thanks for your help in advance.
     
    PPowerHouseK, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  8. guardian999

    guardian999 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    #8
    place it at top of your code not php.ini
     
    guardian999, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  9. PPowerHouseK

    PPowerHouseK Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Okay, I am fairly new at this, my site had a lot of code. Which code, which page?
     
    PPowerHouseK, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  10. atlantaazfinest

    atlantaazfinest Peon

    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    You would want to put it in a page that the upload is being processed
     
    atlantaazfinest, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  11. PPowerHouseK

    PPowerHouseK Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Well here is the trick, I am using smf forums with the Download System mod. I have been in contact with the creator of this mod and others that use this mod. They say there is to be ZERO modifications to the mod or the forums themselves. Those that had the problem said they were able to increase their upload limit by adding a php.ini to the root directory. However none can/will explain exactly how to pull this off. I am running out of options at this point.
     
    PPowerHouseK, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  12. JAY6390

    JAY6390 Peon

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    JAY6390, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  13. PPowerHouseK

    PPowerHouseK Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Firstly, I made it blatantly clear above that i was new at this, read the whole thread next time.

    Secondly, How would I know to search for POST MAX when i was asking about Upload MAX filesize. <.<

    Thirdly, If you actually read what u posted and added a little thought, you would have realized I already tried that previously, as I clearly stated above. Nice shot from the hip.

    At this point, forget it. I refuse to return to a forum full of complete idiots. I will simply seek help from a site that has members that leave more than one lined, incomplete sentences as "help". Good luck dealing with yourselves. ^.^
     
    PPowerHouseK, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  14. JAY6390

    JAY6390 Peon

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    For someone with such incompetence you have an amazingly high opinion of yourself to call those who have given you the answer "idiots". I know you are new to this, but you shouldn't be doing things like this without doing what the rest of us have - learning and research. As for not coming back to the forums, thats your call, but it's not like anyone will lose sleep over it, as you clearly have no useful input for anyone else
     
    JAY6390, Apr 7, 2010 IP