1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Does AdSense make your site look unprofessional?

Discussion in 'AdSense' started by another, Mar 31, 2010.

I am new to monetizing websites, although I have been researching for a while. My first venture is going to be a niche shopping guide. I hope to make money through affiliate links and advertising. I am interested in using AdSense because their ads are context based, which seems like it would generate higher click through rates, particularly in a shopping guide.

The problem is that my site is needs to look genuine and informative, (I actually know a lot about my niche and will be offering worthwhile content, but I need visitors to expect that at first glance), and I worry that Google ads are associated with spam sites and other content-thin sites, or else personal blogs. Would you agree with this? I am hoping to attract the type of visitor that casually browses the internet for email and shopping rather than seasoned web-surfers; are these people likely to be put off by the presence of Google ads on a shopping guide site?

I would be grateful if anybody could link me to professional looking sites that use AdSense, if they exist. Or if I want to appear trustworthy and professional should I stay away from AdSense all together? Like I said, I'm new to this and could be totally wrong, please give me the benefit of your experience.

Thanks for any help.

another, Mar 31, 2010 IP
  2. Sxperm

Sxperm Notable Member

Best Answers: