1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google Employees: What kind of education is required for a job at Google?

Discussion in 'Google' started by peppy, Mar 18, 2010.

If there are any Google employees that actually hang out at DP, I have a question about actual employment at Google.

How many people working there have only a Bachelor's Degree? Does everyone have to have a PhD in order to get one of the quantitative jobs (not lunch room jobs or customer service jobs)?

What kind of job could someone get with a BS in Physics and Minor in Mathematics and 6 years of self-taught computer programming and webmaster skills (with some formal courses in Java and True Basic)?

peppy, Mar 18, 2010 IP
  2. BryanWoodUrns

BryanWoodUrns Peon

Best Answers:
    Why dont you put in an application with them directly and see what happens?

BryanWoodUrns, Mar 18, 2010 IP
  3. peppy

peppy Active Member

Best Answers:
    I was wondering if there are any particular jobs there that I could qualify for before sending an application. Unless anyone can send a general resume and Google selects the job for them that they qualify for?

peppy, Mar 18, 2010 IP
  4. simpseo

simpseo Active Member

Best Answers:
    I would suspect that Google employees don't hang out on this forum. Unless, that is, they feel like having a laugh now and again.

simpseo, Mar 18, 2010 IP
  5. tech4

tech4 Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    This is the general reply: Not the specific situations, but generally it is.

You need a degree from an IVY league college.
    You need lots of strong experience basically who you know.

A combination of 1 and 2. No ivy, don't bother. Your family is not part of a large company don't bother.