Digital Point Forums
Money Transfer

Go Back   Digital Point Forums > Design & Development > Site & Server Administration > Traffic Analysis
Google Analytics
Log In to view
your analytics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old May 1st 2005, 5:43 pm
Dio's Avatar
Dio Dio is offline
Twilight Vanquisher
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cardiff, Wales, Cool...
Posts: 720
Dio has a spectacular aura aboutDio has a spectacular aura about
Can anyone explain this - mass of referrars in one hit?

Help! Slightly concerned - I spotted a big surge in bandwidth on my ChavMum site, without noticing any significant rise in actual Page impressions or new referral links.

I look at my webalizer results and it seems I have had a number of sites referring to me:

# Hits Referrer
1 589 13.51% h**p://shaffelrecords
2 586 13.44% h**p://pokerwinner
3 581 13.33% h**p://maryannec
4 577 13.24% h**p://griffeylaw.com
5 570 13.08% h**p://1-texasholdem.us
6 544 12.48% h**p://www.andrewsaluk.com
7 279 6.40% http://www.chavmum.co.uk/
8 266 6.10% - (Direct Request)

You'll note that's almost twice as many hits as from within' the site for each URL - however, I can't find any signs of hotlinking a file, or anything and there's no links to my site on any of them.

Which seems to be coming from these two IPs:

1 377 8.65% 168.12.253.67
2 304 6.97% 168.12.253.66

Which are in Greece?

Anyone have any idea what's going on? My theory is they are trying to spam my comments - but they've not left any? As a precaution I've blocked the two IPs until I get to the bottom of it. Anyone got a thought?

DOS attack maybe?

Last edited by Dio; May 1st 2005 at 6:14 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 1st 2005, 6:07 pm
J.D. J.D. is offline
of the Nightfall
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,198
J.D. has a spectacular aura aboutJ.D. has a spectacular aura about
Somebody's referrer-spamming you. There's been a few threads on this forum discussing this form of website abuse, if you'd like to go into detail. In brief, they are just after your links, in case if you publish your stats. Even if you don't, you just provided them what they were looking for - a bunch of links from this high-ranking forum.

J.D.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 1st 2005, 6:13 pm
Dio's Avatar
Dio Dio is offline
Twilight Vanquisher
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cardiff, Wales, Cool...
Posts: 720
Dio has a spectacular aura aboutDio has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.D.
Somebody's referrer-spamming you. There's been a few threads on this forum discussing this form of website abuse, if you'd like to go into detail. In brief, they are just after your links, in case if you publish your stats. Even if you don't, you just provided them what they were looking for - a bunch of links from this high-ranking forum.

J.D.
D'oh!

Thanks - just fixed that then...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Today's Terrorists nevetS Politics & Religion 631 Apr 21st 2005 2:17 am
Please explain weight RLM Webcreations Weight Questions 4 Mar 30th 2005 2:59 pm
can someone explain PR to me please samantha pia Google 31 Jan 22nd 2005 11:02 am
Still confused . . can someone explain? humorbug Co-op Advertising Network 4 Oct 13th 2004 11:22 pm
pls explain .. nriweb Co-op Advertising Network 3 Sep 23rd 2004 10:56 pm


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:09 am.