what is the purpose of http://gppgle.com - a test of google or a hijacked google

Discussion in 'Websites' started by hans, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. #1
    i found in a recent access_love a referrer
    http: // gppgle . com /
    and had a look at that site
    and all looks like google except that all links i saw so far always to to
    gppgle . com - having all known graphics original google

    any idea if that is a test or clone or hijacked Google site ??
     
    hans, Mar 14, 2005 IP
  2. toddieg

    toddieg Peon

    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    looks like google to me.
     
    toddieg, Mar 14, 2005 IP
  3. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,219
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Whois shows this:

     
    T0PS3O, Mar 14, 2005 IP
  4. Smyrl

    Smyrl Tomato Republic Staff

    Messages:
    13,740
    Likes Received:
    1,702
    Best Answers:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    510
    #4
    Whois shows IP Address: 216.239.63.104. Looks likee Google owns it.

    Shannon
     
    Smyrl, Mar 14, 2005 IP
  5. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,219
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    T0PS3O, Mar 14, 2005 IP
  6. melfan

    melfan Peon

    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    It is a typo error redirect page. Since "P" is beside letter "O" they want to capture visitor miss typing their domain -- I guess :)
     
    melfan, Mar 14, 2005 IP
  7. yfs1

    yfs1 User Title Not Found

    Messages:
    13,798
    Likes Received:
    922
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Or more likely stop others from taking that traffic and impersonating them...They own tons of similar domains in an effort to protect their name.

    Just put in a url with any number of O's and its registered:

    http://www.goooooooooooooooooooooogle.com/
     
    yfs1, Mar 15, 2005 IP
  8. lokimona

    lokimona Peon

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    YEs Google did this to avoid others from getting more than 10000 searches in a month that happen from typing mistake.
    But it has not registered its name for any number of zeroes.
    sexyhood
     
    lokimona, Feb 25, 2007 IP