1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

simple js problem - i think

Discussion in 'JavaScript' started by tony84, Sep 15, 2008.

  1. #1
    Could anyone help spot the problem witht he code below, i have put in bold the line i think has the problem but im not 100% sure

    <script language="JavaScript1.2">
    
    var howOften = 7; //number often in seconds to rotate
    var current = 0; //start the counter at 0
    var ns6 = document.getElementById&&!document.all; //detect netscape 6
    
    // place your images, text, etc in the array elements here
    var items = new Array();
        [B]items[0]="<a href='http://.co.uk/view_room.php?id=43'><img src='http://.co.uk/photos/43-1-1221452071.jpg' width="120' height='100' border='0'> The G, Mer</a>";[/B] 
        items[1]="<a href='http://.co.uk/view_room.php?id=43'><img src='http://.co.uk/photos/43-1-1221452071.jpg' width="120' height='100' border='0'> The y, Mncer</a>"; 
    
    
    function rotater() {
        if(document.layers) {
            document.placeholderlayer.document.write(items[current]);
            document.placeholderlayer.document.close();
        }
        if(ns6)document.getElementById("placeholderdiv").innerHTML=items[current]
            if(document.all)
                placeholderdiv.innerHTML=items[current];
    
        current = (current==items.length) ? 0 : current + 1; //increment or reset
        setTimeout("rotater()",howOften*1000);
    }
    window.onload=rotater;
    //–>
    </script>
    Code (markup):
     
    tony84, Sep 15, 2008 IP
  2. LogicFlux

    LogicFlux Peon

    Messages:
    2,925
    Likes Received:
    102
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    You problem is : width="120'

    Should be width='120' .

    Same problem on the next line.
     
    LogicFlux, Sep 15, 2008 IP
    tony84 likes this.
  3. tony84

    tony84 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #3
    Still doesnt seem to be working :S
     
    tony84, Sep 16, 2008 IP
  4. qprojects

    qprojects Peon

    Messages:
    1,901
    Likes Received:
    103
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Should work.
     
    qprojects, Sep 16, 2008 IP
    tony84 likes this.
  5. tony84

    tony84 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #5
    cheers, all working now
     
    tony84, Sep 16, 2008 IP
  6. lp1051

    lp1051 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #6
    I guess, this is missing somewhere in <BODY>

    <div id="placeholderdiv"></div>

    btw. maybe you need also set some dimensions : <div id="placeholderdiv" style="width:120px;height:120px;border:1px solid black;"></div>
     
    lp1051, Sep 16, 2008 IP
    tony84 likes this.
  7. tony84

    tony84 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #7
    hmm, maybe the size could be better placed in div instead of each picture.

    I didnt think of that. Thanks for the suggestion +rep to everyone on this thread
     
    tony84, Sep 16, 2008 IP
    qprojects likes this.