View Full Version : new bot called pscheclone hitting sites
TechEvangelist
Jun 10th 2006, 2:19 pm
There's a new bot with a user agent simpley acalled "psycheclone" that looks like it's hitting thousands of sites. It hit one of my sites twice this month.
I did a Web search and found thousands of log files with this user agent listed, but not much in the way of info about it. It uses a variety of IPs that mostly fall in the 208.66.195 range.
Does anyone know what this is? I suspect is is a scraper, but do not know for certain. There are a few posts I found in other forums where people are trying to figure this out, as well.
jalika
Jun 12th 2006, 9:30 am
hi,
i am using webalizer for stats, under "Total User Agents" "psycheclone" listed, what is "psycheclone"??? is it a robot? if robot then which search engine?? or is it any spy???
jalika
Jean-Luc
Jun 12th 2006, 9:43 am
I put some information about this psycheclone (http://www.internetofficer.com/web-robot/psycheclone.html) on my site about robots. That's all what I know for sure about it.
As no information is available from the owner, I do not expect this robot to be well-intended.:rolleyes:
Jean-Luc
jalika
Jun 12th 2006, 10:04 am
oh thankyou for the info, so what shall i do now, block the ip or allow them to do again???
jalika
Jean-Luc
Jun 12th 2006, 11:04 am
It is really up to you.
So far, it is not eating much bandwidth from my web sites. So I let it visit them. But if you prefer a safer approach (because you do not want it to read email addresses in your site), you can block the IP range.
Jean-Luc
AdamSee
Jun 14th 2006, 4:07 pm
It kept on revisiting my site over and over and over again. It was taking up a lot of bandwidth so I cut off it's IP range. No idea what it was, but it kept on going around in circles.
mrtsays
Jun 14th 2006, 5:57 pm
Anyone Know what psycheclone is? I have seen it poping up on a few of my sites? Any ideas?
iatbm
Jun 14th 2006, 6:13 pm
if you check google for that keyword some say it is bad. Block it since it is not googlebot :D
TechEvangelist
Jun 16th 2006, 6:04 am
There is a lot of malicious activity out there these days. Based upon the name, I think it safe to assume it is a scraper or e-mail harvester.
Psycheclone appears to have been sneaking about for a couple of months, but no one seems to know what it is. I also blocked the IP range.
It looks like most visits are from one small ISP's C class. Other people are reporting a few other IPs, but it looks like blocking this group will cover most of it.
deny from 208.66.195. #psycheclone
Is anyone else seeing additional IP ranges that should be blocked?
PashaM
Jun 23rd 2006, 1:22 pm
how would i ban the IP range? I editted my robots.txt file to disallow agent but dont know how to ban IPs.
zoura
Jun 26th 2006, 5:59 pm
Don't block it by editing robots.txt, but go to your control panel and choose IP deny; then enter the IP of psycheclone (208.66.195)
wheel
Jun 27th 2006, 9:50 am
From what I read, it seems this bot is an email harvester.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.