View Full Version : Blog Spammer from here?
nevetS
Feb 3rd 2005, 7:06 pm
195.175.37.22
www. poker - games. net
www.dish - network - w.com
www.cialis - dot.com
has been blog spamming me. If he's from around here, call him out so we can get back at him.
digitalpoint
Feb 3rd 2005, 7:09 pm
Looks like that IP address is a proxy server.
dchoe
Feb 3rd 2005, 9:18 pm
there's a bunch of anti-spam plugins that'll cut down on this
david_sakh
Feb 3rd 2005, 9:41 pm
195.175.37.22
www. poker - games. net
www.dish - network - w.com
www.cialis - dot.com
has been blog spamming me. If he's from around here, call him out so we can get back at him.
cialis.com? How could anything remotely related to that in digital form NOT be spam. :rolleyes:
How ghey. I hope he has violent diarehea and smashes his ankle running to the bathroom.
J.D.
Feb 3rd 2005, 10:12 pm
...has been blog spamming me.You can scan comments for URLs and not allow those that have any (e.g. search for http://). Of course, it can also be something like http://, which would be a bit more tricky to decipher, but you would be able to fend off at least some of them.
J.D.
nevetS
Feb 3rd 2005, 11:39 pm
I actually get alerted to this stuff, but it's still a pain to deal with. I thought there was a chance that the spammer may have come from here since my blog is listed on my posts and I don't promote it a lot elsewhere. I figured if I posted the sites and the IP someone might recognize it and maybe just maybe somebody would know that person and punch him for me.
SEbasic
Feb 4th 2005, 1:20 am
I figured if I posted the sites and the IP someone might recognize it and maybe just maybe somebody would know that person and punch him for me.A good intention for sure, but I don't think anyone who spams blogs is going to publicly state it... (Well, I know of a few guys that would, but they're just cocky) ;)
dakar
Feb 4th 2005, 10:57 am
Nice looking blog, very eye pleasing to read and such. I didn't know it until the other day, but WP has it, apparently turned on by default, does your blogging software have the ability to stop comments from actually being posted to the blog without approval?
SEbasic
Feb 4th 2005, 3:44 pm
Who are you asking?
dakar
Feb 4th 2005, 3:58 pm
Guess it was directed at nevetS since he was the one getting spammed with that crud.
nevetS
Feb 4th 2005, 11:27 pm
yes, it does have the ability to block comments until they get approved. It's just a preference setting. You can also set it so that only comments with URLs have to get approved, and also so that only comments with at least x number of URLs have to get approved. It's very handy.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.